Cagnes-sur-Mer

Images en cours de chargement
Des hauts de Cagnes-sur-Mer|The Grimaldi Castle-Museum|The Renoir Museum |Photo Musée RenoirThe workshop of Pierre-Auguste Renoir |Photo Cagnes TourismeA lane of Cagnes-sur-Mer|Photo CamerakirladThe small port of Cros de Cagnes|Photo OT Cagnes-sur-Mer

Haut-de-Cagnes

Cagnes-sur-Mer extends on almost four kilometres of beach. It is a unique site on the French Riviera where lived the painter Pierre-Auguste Renoir until his death. The city is surrounded by hills, including that of the Grimaldi Castle.

Haut-de-Cagnes is the historical part of the city. It is a maze of steep streets, of paved pebbles, vaulted passages. Workshops of artists are revealed with each step. Many artists have stayed and worked in Cagnes-sur-Mer, it was nicknamed in the 1960s the 'Montmartre of the Côte d'Azur. These include Pierre-Auguste Renoir, Raoul Dufy, Victor Vasarely, Mouloudji, Georges Simenon and Brigitte Bardot.

Brief summary of history

Its proximity with the Var River, which serves as the border between the County of Provence and Savoy Cagnes became an important border post in 1388. The history of the city is closely linked to that of its castle. In 1309 Raynier Grimaldi, coseigneur of Monaco, became the Lord of Cagnes. He had built the chateau Grimaldi, who will soon become a property of the branch of the Grimaldi of Antibes, until the French Revolution.

At the end of the 18th century Cagnes waters are teeming, fishermen come from Chin and settled in Cagnes. The prosperous village through fishing, reaching its peak at the beginning of the 20th century with a fleet of over a hundred boats fishing.

The Musée Renoir in Cagnes-sur-Mer

The painter Pierre - Auguste Renoir moved in 1908 to Cagnes-sur-Mer. He built the villa-workshop where he lived until his death in 1919. It is there that it will address for the first time the sculpture with the help of Richard Guino. Despite its articular rheumatism, he painted there until the end of his life. Transformed into a Museum, the area offers tours of the workshop of the painter, paintings of the period Pearly (1889-1919), sculptures, lithographs and preparatory studies.
Visit the Renoir Museum - 19 Chemin des Collettes, 06800 Cagnes-sur-Mer - Tel. 33 (0) 4 93 20 61 07.

The Grimaldi Castle-Museum

The massive dungeon decorated with niches and machicolation of the Grimaldi Castle has two floors of galleries with a monumental staircase. The reception rooms of the Baroque influence related to the County of Nice.

The Castle houses the Museum of the olive tree, portraits of the singer Suzy Solidor (1900-1983) died in Cagnes-sur-Mer, a unique baroque painted ceiling and contemporary art exhibitions.
Château-Musée Grimaldi - Place Grimaldi, 06800 Cagnes-sur-Mer - Tel. 33 (0) 4 92 02 47 35.

The Church of Saint-Pierre

The Church of Saint-Pierre is located next to the Grimaldi. It was expanded during the 16th and the 18th century. Inside the Church, religious paintings dating from the 18th century. The primitive Gothic nave houses the tombs of Grimaldi in Cagnes.

Useful information :

Address :
06800 Cagnes-sur-Mer

Good to know :
Office of tourism of Cagnes-sur-Mer 6 Boulevard du Maréchal Juin, 06800 Cagnes-sur-Mer Tel 33 (0) 4 93 20 61 64

Free of charge.

Where to stay:

All accommodation

facebook
twitter
googleplus
linkedin