Belvès

Images en cours de chargement
The village of Belvès|Photo Marti VicenteThe majestic Hall of the 15th and 16th centuries |Photo Jaume CP BCNHotel Bontemps, noble House from the 13th century|Photo Jaume CP BCNA lane of Belvès|The maison des Consuls (15th and 16th centuries)|Photo Marti VicenteBelvès cave dwellings|

More labeled "beautiful Village of France.

The medieval Belvès from the 11th century is perched on a rocky outcrop, it remarkably preserved traces of its built heritage. Labeled "Most beautiful Village of France", Belvès is called 'the village of seven spires', it has kept its authenticity and its natural charm.

Brief summary of history

In 1095 is created the Abbey of Fongauffier. This is probably to this date that is being built the castrum of Belvès which remain including the Tower of the listener and the door of the castrum. An English garrison settled in Belvès in 1242. The city is taken over by the King of France but abandoned by Louis IX. Philippe le Bel is wholly in 1295 and then abandons. This war causes many deletions.

In 1451, peace is restored in the Valley of the Dordogne. The victory of Castillon in 1453 ended the war of the hundred years. The region out of the almost deserted war, only Belvès and Palayrac are still inhabited. In 1575, the protestants seize Belvès and settle the Protestant in the chapel of the Castle.

The village of seven spires

Discover in the fortified village of Belvès, dating from the 11th century:

  • The majestic Hall of the 15th and 16th centuries is composed of 23 wooden based on blocks of stone pillars. One of the pillars served as the old pillory which was used to punish the criminals.
  • The dwellings are a set of eight underground houses occupied by the yokels of the 13th century to the 18th century. The guided tour lasts 40 minutes.
  • The castrum is the oldest part of Belvès, its construction dates back to the 11th century. Remains of the period of construction of the castrum of many relics, including the former Dungeon (Tower of the listener), one of the towers of defense (the belfry) as well as a gate fortified. It was the only entry of the city.
  • The Tower of the Archbishop was the dwelling place of the Lord of Belves Bertrand de Goth, Holy Pope Clement V in 1305. There is also the Tower of the listener (11th) and the Watchtower (13th) and the House of the Consuls of 11th century.
  • The church Notre-Dame - de - L'Assomption is built on the site of a former Benedictine monastery that existed as early as 830. The choir and side chapels date from the 13th century.
  • In the castle of Belvès, there are wall paintings dating from 1470 to 1490.
  • The Organistrum and old Museum at wheel allows you to discover the history of an instrument both beautiful and very strange: the hurdy-gurdy. Seven reproductions of hurdy-gurdies ranging from the middle ages to the 18th century are presented.

Belvès spinning

The interpretation of the wool centre is located in an old medieval mill. With its impressive engine room, it testifies to the industrial heritage in Périgord. It follows the transformation of the raw wool to the wire.

Belvès spinning - Fongauffier, 24170 Monplaisant - Tel. + 33 5 53 57 52 64

Useful information :

Address :
24170 Belvès

Good to know :
Office of tourism of Belvès 1 Rue de Filhols, 24170 Belves Tel. + 33 (0) 5 53 29 10 20

Free of charge. Guided tour.

Where to stay:

All accommodation

facebook
twitter
googleplus
linkedin